by Esports Pocket in

Original article by : Dot Esports

Twelve teams, one champion.

The first international League of Legends event of the year begins with the Mid-Season Invitational in Reykjavík, Iceland. 

The event, which is expected to take place from May 6 to 22, will see the top team from each of the 12 regions compete for money, glory, and, for the first time in history, an additional slot at the World Championship.

This year, Riot is doing away with the play-in stage and splitting the 12 regions into four tiers based on the results of the last two years of international tournaments. The new format will give teams more of an incentive to perform on the international stage, especially with an extra slot at Worlds on the line.

Europe’s G2 are the reigning champions of MSI, having beaten Team Liquid in the finals in Taipei, Taiwan in 2019. But after a year-long hiatus due to the coronavirus pandemic and neither team qualifying for the event, a new champion will be crowned. 

Here are all of the teams attending the 2021 Mid-Season Invitational.

Group A
  • LPL Spring champion
  • VCS Spring champion
  • LCL Spring champion
  • Pentanet.GG (LCO)
Group B
  • MAD Lions (LEC)
  • PCS Spring champion
  • TCL Spring champion
  • CBLOL spring champion
Group C
  • Cloud9 (LCS)
  • DAMWON Gaming (LCK)
  • DetonatioN FocusMe (LJL)
  • Infinity Esports (LLA)

Share Post:

Related Posts

No Comments

Leave a Reply